Portrait of an Artist, a culmination of over a years worth of work, depicting 36 inspiring artists, opened October 15th, 2015 at the Duluth Art Institute with a paired publication of a book of the work.

Here is a list of those depicted artists, many of which had work featured in the accompanying show in the John Steffl Gallery:

  1. Rick Allen
  2. Andy Bennett
  3. Dan Branovan
  4. Gloria DeFilipps Brush
  5. Patricia Canelake
  6. Martin DeWitt
  7. Leia Kyle Elden
  8. Shawna Gilmore
  9. Rob Glibbery
  10. Patricia Hagen
  11. Lil Haldorson
  12. Andy Hardman
  13. Sasha Howell
  14. Liz James
  15. Tyler Johnson
  16. Judith Ostern 
  17. Matt & Laurie Kania
  18. Rachael Kilgour
  19. Ann Klefstad
  20. Po-Lin Kosuth
  21. Karin Kraemer
  22. Asha Long
  23. Flo Matamoros
  24. Kathy McTavish
  25. Erika Mock
  26. Scott Murphy
  27. Matt Osterlund
  28. Wanda Pearcy
  29. Penny Perry
  30. Robert Repinski
  31. Jim Richardson 
  32. Tyler Scouton
  33. John Steffl
  34. Richie Townsend
  35. Amy Varsek
  36. Ryan Vine
Sarah M. Brokke was a fiscal year 2015 recipient of an Artist Initiative grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.
This work is also made possible by a Kickstarter! campaign as well as generous support by the Duluth Art Institute.
Legacy Logo ColorFinal msab_logo_color_small